top of page
Search

Week 7: Maximize Your Summer!

Whether you are working from home or you are physically in the office, one thing you should be doing during your internship is taking advantage of you resources. Not only will you be working with experienced reporters who can teach you a lot, but the other staff members can also teach you new skills that will diversify you as a job candidate. Reaching out to staff videographers, photographers, people who are good with creating graphics/visuals, etc. to see if you can shadow them or if they can teach you anything is an amazing opportunity to learn something you might not get the chance to otherwise.

In my case, I wanted to learn any new skills I could during the course of my internship. I made sure to let everyone know that a big priority on my list was learning multimedia skills like video and photography. I have done a bit of it in the past, but I wanted to learn from the people I was working with so I know what is expected at the journalism and professional level. Because I made that a goal, I was able to get some training in that area and then apply those new skills to my work!

Internships are about getting as many skills as you can so you can be as prepared as possible for your career. Even if you are hesitant to try something or might not know if you will be good at it, now is as good a time as any to take the leap and try!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 10: The Final Stretch

Believe it or not, the end of the internship has come. With my last week, I wanted to wrap up everything I was working on and help out as much as I could before leaving. Once the week was over, I took

Week 9: Reflecting

We have reached the second to last week and I think the only thing I have to say about that is...where did the time go? It feels like just last week I was getting ready for the first day. Ready for a

Week 8: Try Something New!

This week's advice is short and simple - step out of your comfort zone! We all have interests that are unique to us and influence what we gravitate towards writing about. While it's nice to know what

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page