top of page
Search

Week 10: The Final Stretch

Believe it or not, the end of the internship has come. With my last week, I wanted to wrap up everything I was working on and help out as much as I could before leaving. Once the week was over, I took some time to reflect on everything I accomplished over the past 10 weeks. Interning at The News Journal was an amazing experience and I learned a ton. I am so grateful I was given the opportunity and I feel prepared to take on anything that comes my way!

While looking back, I realized that one of the most important things to do while going through an internship is take time for yourself.

I've talked a lot about the work aspect and how it is important to think about how you can get ahead, maximize the opportunity, etc., but part of making sure you are able to fully enjoy the experience is making sure you are taking time for yourself. This can be hanging out with friends, going on a walk everyday, catching up on your favorite TV show at night, whatever you like to do. Just make sure you actually give yourself the time to do it! Having that time for you to not think about work and get out of job-mode will prevent you from getting fatigued and keep you excited about learning new things. I wouldn't have been able to enjoy working full-time if I didn't do things for myself every week and take time to recharge. Although it was a bit harder to do so during a global pandemic, I knew that taking time for myself would allow me to show up for (virtual) work as my best self every single day! That also might be how the summer feels like it flew by. I truly enjoyed getting to work with such an incredible team of people.


This is the last post for my summer internship, so thank you for reading along and I hope you learned a thing or two. If you would like to read what I wrote this summer, here is a link to most of my articles: https://www.delawareonline.com/staff/3205212001/krystal-griffin/.


-

Krys'tal

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 9: Reflecting

We have reached the second to last week and I think the only thing I have to say about that is...where did the time go? It feels like just last week I was getting ready for the first day. Ready for a

Week 8: Try Something New!

This week's advice is short and simple - step out of your comfort zone! We all have interests that are unique to us and influence what we gravitate towards writing about. While it's nice to know what

Week 7: Maximize Your Summer!

Whether you are working from home or you are physically in the office, one thing you should be doing during your internship is taking advantage of you resources. Not only will you be working with expe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page